Angel: The Girl With the Animal Touch

(A short story in the eyes of a Hill View High Student: Andrew Davies)

 

I’ve lived in this crazy town ever since I was little. In all those years, I’ve run into a lot of different types of people. Hill View is a tiny town with not-too-many people, where everybody knows who you are and your family is well known throughout. We’re tucked away in the middle, between perfection and forever. Being how small our town is, you’d be willing to bet nothing happens. It doesn’t. You could say we’re your average, ordinary town with average, ordinary people. You could say there isn’t anything I haven’t seen in Hill View, Michigan.

That is, until Angel Pierce came along.

From the moment I saw her, I knew she was something special. With a healthy combination of bright red hair and big, beautiful, bright green eyes, I could tell right away she was the girl for me. She looked tall, and the word gorgeous came to mind. It was a crush at first sight.

I met her on her first day at Hill View High. She strode into the room slowly, hugging her books to her chest shyly. She hid behind our principal, Mr. Anderson. I wasn’t the only one to notice her. Everyone did. The guys began to whisper already, the girls in class scowled at her, ready to pounce with another round of new-girl gossip. I just sat in my seat and stared.

Her hair was tied up in a bushy pony-tail, her eyes were sad as they stared at the floor. She looked distant, not wanting to be the center of attention.

Mr. Anderson whispered in Mrs. Pemberton’s ear. Mrs. Pemberton smiled, clapping her hands and moving to introduce the new girl.

“Class, this is Angel Pierce.” Mrs. Pemberton announced as Mr. Anderson left the room. Angel continued to stare at the floor. “Please make her feel welcome here at Hill View High.” She turned to Angel. “Why don’t you take a seat next to Andrew Davies.”

That’s me! I cried in my mind. I sat up straight and smiled at her when she walked toward me. I tried to hide my excitement when Angel looked up and smiled at me.

I smiled back. God, she was gorgeous! I thought.

Every guy continued to stare at her as she sat down, comments to themselves. The girls began to whisper, already jealous of the competition for their recent boyfriends. They hated her already.

Angel, on the other hand, could sense me staring. She smiled a warm smile that made my heart pound with delight. My mind was already picturing us making out at Clement’s Pond.

I quickly turned away to hide my embarrassment. I didn’t want her to see me blush. I returned to my math work, but couldn’t concentrate.

At the end of the day, I could think of nothing but Angel. Alone, I began to walk home, until I heard a female voice behind me.

“Hey! Wait up!”

I turned to see Angel, running up to me.

When she caught up with me, she smiled. “Do you always walk to and from school alone?”

Unable to speak, I nodded. I could feel my heart pounding.

She giggled. “Why?”

I shrugged. “I don’t know.” I thought of something. “How do you know?”

She blushed, trying not to meet my eyes. “I watch you.”

I raised my eyebrows. “You do?”

She nodded. “I moved next door to you, but only started school today.”

“When did you move in?”

“Two weeks ago. Didn’t you see me?”

Actually, I had, but I didn’t want to tell her that. So I told her, “I guess I hadn’t noticed. Sorry.”

“That’s okay.” She said. “You know what?”

“What?”

“I’m beginning to like it here.” She replied. “I moved from Pleasant Ridge, just across town. Compared to that, Hill View is pretty cool.”

“What made you move here?” I asked softly, wondering.

“My dad got a job at the Reading Industries Hill View plant.” Angel told me. She looked away, seeing two squirrels fighting in a nearby tree. Her smile turned to a frown and she ran ahead of me toward them.

“Be careful, Angel.” I tried to warn her, but she didn’t hear me.

She dropped her books on the ground and sat on the grass. To my surprise, the two squirrels stopped fighting to run toward her.

She began talking to them. “Now, now. Why fight the inevitable? You know you were made for each other. Here.” She reached into her pocket and pulled out a pack of peanuts, shaking the bag into her hand.

I stood still and watched silently. The squirrels chattered as they took some and ate quickly.

“You’re welcome, friends. I want you both to behave, understand?” Angel whispered, petting them. I swear they nodded. “Go. Have fun.”

With that, they raced off and she stood up.

I dared to speak. “What was that all about?”

Angel grinned. “Oh, nothing. I just have a knack with animals, that’s all.”

“You call that a knack?” I asked, incredulous. She picked her books up after brushing herself off. “That was amazing! Did they really understand you?”

She nodded, laughing. “Of course.” She grabbed my arm with a free hand. “Let’s go home and I’ll explain.”

The walk home was peaceful. She surprised me when she grabbed my hand.

We look at each other and I smiled at her, happy she entered my life.

We were almost there when we heard a car horn blowing behind us. I looked beside Angel and saw Bradley Schmidt and his girlfriend Kelly Reading in a jeep. Bradley was in the driver’s seat. Kelly waved, smiling at me.

“Do you know them?” Angel asked, looking at me.

I nodded and they called to me.

“Hey Andy!” Bradley cried, looking out the passenger-side window. “Are you busy?”

“We’re going to the Clubhouse for a treat.” Kelly said. “Wanna join us?”

I looked to Angel. She looked like she needed a treat.

“Sure.” I told them. “What about you, Angel? Did you want to come with me?”

Angel nodded her head, happily. “Thanks.”

We went up to the jeep, opening the side door with no problems.

“Angel Pierce, these are Bradley Schmidt and Kelly Reading.” I said. Kelly and Angel met eyes, smiling at each other. “Guys, this is Angel. She just moved in next door to me.”

Kelly winked at me. “I know.”

I shook my head.

We were on our way to the Clubhouse. When we got there, we sat at a booth. Kelly and Bradley sat next to each other and Angel sat next to me, blushing.

“I wanted to talk to you, Angel.” Kelly said after we ordered sundaes.

“Sure. What about?” Angel said.

Kelly leaned in and whispered. “About your so-called knack with animals.”

Now Bradley leaned in when Angel gasped. “We saw your handiwork at school when you came in.”

I looked to her. “What happened when you came to school?”

“Oh, that’s nothing.” Angel blushed away. “My cat Jinx followed me to school, that’s all. I just told her to go home.”

“That wasn’t nothing, Angel.” Kelly said. She looked to me. “Have you heard of the Mystics, Andy?”

“Sure, everyone in school has.” I replied. “What does that have to do with Angel?”

“Simple.” Bradley remarked. “Kelly’s one, and recognized something in Angel that very few non-Mystics have.”

“What do I have?” Angel asked, just as the sundaes were set in front of us.

“It’s called Unicorn Magic.” Kelly replied. “I’ll explain more later. For now, let’s chow and get home. I haven’t even told Momma I’d be coming here.”

“I’m sure Mrs. Dratianos won’t mind.” Bradley told her, kissing her cheek.

When his lips pulled back, I could see the kiss of chocolate on her cheek. I laughed.

“What’s so funny?” Kelly asked.

Bradley looked at her, laughing too. He took a napkin and wet it with water from his glass. “I left chocolate on your face by accident.”

Kelly blushed. “Oh Bradley, my love. You’re so silly.”

He wiped it off her cheek and kissed her lips. “Thank you, darling.”

Angel sighed from beside me.

“What’s wrong?” I asked her, placing an arm around her shoulders.

“I wish I had someone like that.” She announced, staring at the loving couple across the table.

“Like what?” Kelly asked.

“All lovey-dovey.” Angel said. “Someone to sweep me off my feet and kiss away my wounds. So far, the only person close enough to do that was my cousin, Rick, but he died last year.”

“I’m sorry to hear that.” Bradley said, and shared a look with Kelly.

“That’s okay. I’m over it.” Angel said. “Did you say your last name was Reading?”

Kelly nodded.

“I don’t know if they’re your family, but my dad got a job at Reading Industries downtown.” Angel said. “That’s why we’re here in Hill View.”

“There’s only one Reading family in Hill View, and that’s definitely them.” I told her.

“You’re thinking of my step-grandparents.” Kelly said. “They’re the ones that own Reading Industries. Daddy Derrick tells me all the Readings, whether married to it or born into the family, inherit a portion of it.”

“Mr. Reading never told me that.” Bradley looked at her. “Neither did Alexander, and he’s the Elder Reading’s youngest son.”

“Never mind that now, Brad.” Kelly told him. “Anyway, if you want, I can explain all about the Unicorn Magic.”

“Now?” Angel asked, looking from side to side. “In front of all these people?”

Kelly shook her head. “No, at my house.” She turned to me. “Do you know where the Mid-District is?”

“Isn’t that by the Catz Mansion?” I asked. “I don’t know for sure.”

“That’s Catz Avenue.” Bradley said. “We’re talking about the neighborhoods of Sycamore and Grosset Roads.”

I thought about it. “Oh, where the Woods’ live?”

“Where they used to live, yes.” Kelly said. “The Woods’ are my mother’s side of the family.”

“So you really are a mysterious Mystic?” I asked, and she nodded.

“Try not to talk too much about it around school.” Bradley instructed.

“For now, did you want to come over, Angel?” Kelly asked her.

I looked to Angel. “I do, but….I don’t know.”

“What if we go to your house?” Kelly prodded.

Angel looked up and stared at her. “I’m not sure about that, Kelly.”

“If it’s your parents you’re worried about, don’t be.” Bradley told her. “I’m sure Andy here can persuade them we’re cool. Right Andy?”

I nodded, gulping. “Sure, no problem.”

 

After Kelly had explained everything to Angel, she and Bradley exchanged glances.

“Are you understanding all this, Angel?” Kelly asked her.

“Kind of.” Angel replied.

“Don’t worry about it too much, okay?” Bradley said, standing and grabbing his coat.

Kelly did the same. “Yeah, don’t worry about it.” She hugged Angel. “Whenever you need a friend, you can count on us to be there, okay?”

Angel looked relieved. “Okay.”

With that, they left.

It was just her and I, alone at last. My heart was pounding a mile a minute, and my nerves were making me shake.

“Looks like it’s you and me now.” I told her. I glanced at the clock. “I’d better head home. Homework, you know?”

“Yeah, I got some, too.” Angel replied shyly. “Lemme walk you home. It’s pretty late.”

“I live next door, but, okay, sure.” I said. Where was my mind when I needed it?

We went outside and headed next door to my house. She stopped to sit on the porch.

“You know, Andy. I had a good time today.” She said. “Kelly, Bradley and you really made me feel welcome in Hill View.”

I sat next to her. “That’s what we do.” I told her, wrapping an arm around her waist. “Even if we’re total jerks, Hill View kids are cool when it comes to new students.”

She moved away from me.

What was she doing? What was I doing? I had the perfect opportunity to kiss her and blew it.

“Was it something I said?” I asked, my hands now in my pockets, ashamed.

“No.”

“Did you feel uncomfortable?”

“No.” She said. “Not with you. I don’t know. I guess it’s the new-girl jitters.”

I laughed lightly. I never heard it like that before. “Don’t be nervous, Angel.” I told her. I tried placing my hands around her waist again. This time, she scooted closer to me. My heart skipped a beat and I grinned, sighing in happiness. I thought back to earlier in the afternoon, when she’d wished she had someone like Kelly had Bradley.

With that thought in mind, I brought up the courage to kiss her.

She was hesitant at first, but she quickly relaxed and kissed me back.

When we parted, I couldn’t help smiling at her. Her red hair had come out of the ponytail in strands that covered the sides of her face. I moved them out of her face and kissed the tip of her nose.

She giggled. “What was that for?”

“Because of your inner beauty.” I told her. “You truly are an angel, Angel Pierce.”

She blushed but snuggled closer to me. “Thank you, Andy.”

“You’re welcome.” I replied. Her head was on my chest, so I kissed her hair. “You wished for someone special, like Bradley is for Kelly, right?” I felt her nod in the darkness. “Let me be that guy for you.”

She looked up at me. “Don’t you have a girlfriend?”

I smiled, shaking my head. “Do you think I’d ask you if I did?”

She grinned, replying in a teasing tone. “I don’t know, Andrew Davis. Maybe, maybe not?”

We kissed again. Her kisses were so sweet and rich, I couldn’t resist them.

About Lady Adellandra

I am the One of Many Names, Many Faces, in Many Realms and Many Times. I am the Creatrix Pillar of Light-named-Ai'sha.

Posted on 22May2010, in Inner Realm Chronicles: Excerpts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment